Gerd Mueller
new chair

of the Commission for Research Integrity

New chair of the Commission for Research Integrity


Since the beginning of the year Gerd Müller, former professor at the University of Würzburg as well as director of the Fraunhofer Institute for Silicate Research in Würzburg, is chair of the Commission for Research Integrity of the Austrian Agency for Research Integrity (OeAWI).


Gerd Müller succeeds Stephan Rixen, who served as a Member of the Commission from June 2012 to September 2015 and held the Chair from October 2015 to December 2018. During his tenure as chair, more than 80 requests for investigation of cases of (alleged) research misconduct were referred to the OeAWI. Stephan Rixen, professor at the Faculty of Law, Business Administration and Economics at the University of Bayreuth (Germany), was particularly committed to preventive actions, especially for the further development of the guidelines of Good Scientific Practice and the integration of the Guidelines into day-to-day research.


The new chair of the Commission, Gerd Müller, has been a member of the Commission since 2015 and is responsible for the field of Natural and Technical Sciences. Gerd Müller obtained his PhD in Mineralogy/Crystallography at the TH Karlsruhe. Subsequently, he worked for 13 years in various functions for the Schott AG. Gerd Müller then became Professor at the TH Darmstadt and later at the University of Würzburg. In Wuerzburg he simultaneously held the position of Director of the Fraunhofer Institute for Silicate Research and, for a number of years, also of the Fraunhofer Institute for Structural Durability in Darmstadt. He was also a member of the Presidium of the Fraunhofer Gesellschaft and member of the Collegium Materials Science of the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft.


Gerd Müller retired in 2006. Since 2007, he is a member of the Comité Carnot of the Agence Nationale de la Recherche, Paris, and since 2012 of the Conseil d’Administration and the Comité Scientifique of the Fondation de la Maison de la Chimie, Paris.


The OeAWI thanks Stephan Rixen for the professionalism and his great commitment with which he led the commission, as well as Gerd Müller for taking over the commission’s chair.

Skip to content